Skip to main content

Doug & Edna Kelly

Doug and Edna Kelly Scholarship

The Kelly's were longtime residents of Troy who believed in the importance of continued education. Having no children of their own, they left funds to be used for Troy High School graduates as scholarship funds to help those who apply, succeed in their educational goals. This self-perpetuating fund is invested with Northwestern Mutual and a percentage of the interest proceeds established by the Board of Trustees will be used for scholarships each year. It is the hope of the original Doug and Edna Kelly Scholarship Committee and the Troy School Board that the scholarships will be no less than a $500 award per year to qualifying applicants. While the amount distributed can not exceed the interest earned each year, the goal is to serve as many applicants as possible to fulfill the Kelly's wishes.

There are four criteria for scholarship eligibility:

  • Be a graduate of Troy High School.
  • Have demonstrated scholastic or vocational ability.
  • Have completed at least one year of post-secondary education or will have completed one year of post-secondary education when the scholarship is awarded and working toward a first degree.
  • Have demonstrated potential scholastic or vocational ability and potential to not only succeed in your educational goals but to demonstrate the ability to contribute to society.

Applications for Doug and Edna Kelly Scholarship
are due by January 15

This program is designed for graduates to help other graduates of Troy High School. Alumni and scholarship recipients are encouraged to donate to this fund. All donations apply only to the principal; interest gained from donations is awarded annually as a scholarship, thus donations will continue to provide scholarship money forever. Donations may be sent to: Troy School District Office, Attn: Doug and Edna Kelly Scholarship, PO Box 280, Troy, ID 83871.

Award Recipients
Donald Buzga 2006
Mitchell Swanger 2006
Meghan Wardwell 2006, 2007, 2008
Lavendar Murdock 2007
Rachelle Scharnhorst 2007
Jessie Goble 2008, 2009
Cory Nelson 2008
Heather Sargent 2008, 2009
Jennifer Schlacke 2009
Kayla Menter 2009
Michelle Leachman 2009
Erin Gram 2010
Hailey Malm 2010
Steven Gram 2013
Austin Bull 2014, 2015, 2017
Nicholas Acord 2015
Zach Bafus 2015, 2017
Bonnie Dunworth 2015, 2016
Marissa Fry 2015, 2016
Clint Sandquist 2016
Madison Yockey 2016
Leah Bafus 2017, 18
Zachary Blum 2017
Erica Case 2017
Whitney Fredrickson 2017, 2018
JeaDa Lay 2018
Abby Blum 2018
Sammie Girard 2019
Sarah Fry 2019
Dakotah Smith 2019
Bethanie Ward 2019
Jordyne Fredrickson 2020
Kendra Fry 2020
Sarah Fry 2020
Sammie Girard 2020
Cre Elle Lanier 2020
Katherine Doumit 2021
Jordyne Fredrickson 2021
Sarah Fry 2021
Cre Elle Lanier 2021